Company Overview

In 2018, the Department for Transport created the East West Railway Company - our Company - to look at plans being developed for a new railway between Oxford and Cambridge.

The original plans were developed by the Department for Transport, Network Rail and the East West Rail Alliance.

Our job is to consider and challenge these plans with fresh thinking. To do that, we are now responsible for planning the section of East West Rail between Bletchley and Cambridge, while overseeing delivery of the section between Bicester and Bletchley – which is being delivered by the East West Rail Alliance.

What sets us apart

Connections icons

Creating new connections

Not just laying down steel and concrete, we're focused on designing a railway that is most likely to create connections between local communities

Two people linking arms icon

Rooted in community

The views of the community the railway serves are central to our decision-making process

Environment icon

Environment at the forefront

We are exploring options for advancing low carbon design and green energy to power our trains

Lightbulb icon

A unified goal - from planning through to operations

Every decision we make is informed by a single, unified goal to deliver the best service for our passengers and our communities.

Our team

We were founded on a range of values which we work to breathe into our project and our company culture - being open, bold, trusted, focusing on our customers and having fun - we’re incredibly proud of the people who make our company what it is.

With decades of valuable and varied industry experience, we know how to spot the best talent and are a group of around 350 skilled and motivated experts who are dedicated to delivering East West Rail. 

Meet our Senior Leadership Team below. 

SLT Headshots Beth
SLT Headshots Sam v2
Will image
SLT Headshots Jonathan
Rachel image cropped2
SLT Headshots Mark
SLT Headshots Rebecca
SLT Headshots Saleem 1
Chris Morgan

The East West Railway Company Board

The East West Railway Company (EWR Co) Board is responsible for establishing appropriate corporate policies and scrutinising major decisions, whilst holding EWR Co Management and EWR Co’s CEO to account. The membership of the Board is:


  • Neil Sachdev MBE

Non-Executive Director Members:

  • Simon Murray
  • Dyan Perry
  • Anne Baldock
  • Lynette Ryals
  • Caroline Botwood

Department for Transport Observer:

  • Cavendish Elithorn

Executive Directors:

  • Beth West - CEO
  • Sam Turner - Chief Financial Officer
  • Will Gallagher - Chief Strategy Officer


Key Corporate Documents